About High Power Laser Science and Engineering

  • Aims and Scope

    High Power Laser Science and Engineering (HPL)is co-published by Chinese Laser Press (CLP) at the Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics (SIOM) and Cambridge University Press. HPL publishes research that seeks to uncover the underlying science and engineering in the fields of high energy density physics, high power lasers, advanced laser technology and applications and laser components.


    Topics include, but are not limited to,


    • Laser Technology:optical materials and components, ultrafast and attosecond optics, extreme nonlinearity and relativistic optics, ultrahigh power laser technologies

    • Laser facility: laser facility and engineering, free electron lasers, diode pumped solid state lasers, fiber and fiber lasers

    • Laser facility support technology: target Fabrication, laser and plasma diagnostics

    • Laser interactions: Laser plasma interactions, Inertial confinement fusion, laboratory astrophysics

    • Secondary source generation: bright X-rays and applications, high power terahertz sources and applications, laser driven electron and ion acceleration


  • Key Journal Metrics

    Impact Factor: 3.992 (ranked 18st out of 99 journals)*

    Google Scholar h5-index: 15†

    *According to Optics category rankings in the 2020 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2021)

    †July 2019 Google Scholar Optics & Photonics Top Publications.

    High Power Laser Science and Engineering is accessible in the CLP Publishing platform and the Cambridge Core platform. For more information, you may email


Editorial Board

  • Co-Editors-in-Chief

    Colin Danson, AWE and Centre for Inertial Fusion Sciences, Physics Department, Imperial College London, UK

    Jianqiang Zhu, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


  • Editorial Board

    Vincent Bagnoud, GSI Darmstadt, Germany

    Seung-Whan Bahk, University of Rochester USA

    Dimitri Batani, University of Bordeaux, France

    Guoqing Chang, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

    Liming Chen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

    Enam Chowdhury, Ohio State University, USA

    Fabrizio Consoli, ENEA, Italy

    Ioan Dancus, ELI-NP, Romania

    Leonida A. Gizzi , National Institute of Optics, CNR, Italy

    Xiantu He , China Academy of Engineering Physics, China

    Kyung Han Hong , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

    Subhendu Kahaly, ELI-ALPS, Hungary

    Shigeo Kawata, Utsunomiya University, Japan

    Yutong Li, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

    Xiaoyan Liang, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

    Paul McKenna, University of Strathclyde, UK

    Charlotte A. J. Palmer, Queen's University Belfast, UK

    Dimitrios Papadopoulos, Ecole Polytechnique, CNRS, France

    Baifei Shen, Shanghai Normal University, China

    Zhengming Sheng, University of Strathclyde, UK /Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

    Martin Smrz, HiLASE Centre, Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic

    Christopher Spindloe, Science and Technology Facilities Council, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK

    Michael Tatarakis , Hellenic Mediterranean University, Greece

    Luca Volpe, University of Salamanca, Spain

    Yingying Wang, Jinan University, China

    Hitoki Yoneda, Institute for Laser Science(ILS), The University of Electro-Communications, Japan

    Jie Zhang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China


Past Editorial Board Members


Early Career Editorial Board

  • Luca Antonelli, University of York, UK

    Federico Belli, Heriot-Watt University, UK

    Philip Bradford, University of York, UK

    Fabrizio Bisesto, LNF-INFN, Italy

    Sergio Carbajo, SLAC/LCLS, USA

    Mirela Cerchez, Institut fuer Laser- und Plasmaphysik Heinrich-Heine-Universitaet , Germany

    Mattia Cipriani, ENEA, Italy

    Vasilis Dimitriou, Technological Education Institute of Crete, Greece

    Elias Gerstmayr, Imperial College, UK

    Yanjun Gu, ELI-Beamlines, Czech Republic

    Adam Higginson, Colorado State University, USA

    Guoqian Liao, Institute of Physics, CAS, China

    Wenjun Ma, Peking University, China

    Sophia Malko, CLPU, Spain then Princeton, USA

    Roland S. Nagymihaly, ELI-ALPS, Hungary

    Jose Antonio Pérez-Hernández, CLPU, Spain

    Rob Shalloo, DESY, Germany

    Henri P. Vincenti, CEA, Saclay, France

    Marija Vranic, IST in Lisbon , Portugal

    Sijia Wang, China Academy of Space Technology, China

    Suming Weng , Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

    Ping Zhu, SIOM, CAS, China


Contact Information

  • Manuscripts Peer Review Process Inquiry:

    Before consult the editor, please check the status of the submission in your Author Center


    Zhilan Li

    Phone: 021-69918198



  • Accounting Inquiry:




  • General Inquiry:

    Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 390 Qinghe Rd., Jiading, P. O. Box 800-211, 201800, Shanghai, China


    Tel: 0086-21-69918198